Innovations & Best Practices

811 Program Information

Permanent Supportive Housing (PSH) Resources

Join Our Email List

Home   »
  • Paths   »
  • State Housing Agencies

State Housing Finance Agencies (HFAs) can play an important role to help create decent, safe, affordable and accessible permanent supportive housing for non-elderly people with disabilities.

Recently enacted legislation modernizing the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Section 811 Supportive Housing for Persons with Disabilities program provides a new opportunity for HFAs to form Section 811 partnerships with state health and human service/Medicaid (HHS/Medicaid) agencies seeking to expand community living options for non-elderly people with disabilities.

These partnerships will permit HFAs to compete for new Section 811 funds, and will foster state-driven strategies to create integrated supportive housing opportunities for this population.

What is Integrated Supportive Housing?

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), as interpreted by the U.S. Supreme Court's Olmstead decision, requires public entities such as states to administer services, programs, and activities in the most integrated setting appropriate to the needs of individuals with disabilities. Supportive housing is an evidence-based, cost-effective approach which combines permanent affordable rental housing with voluntary, flexible and individualized services to assist the most vulnerable people with disabilities to live in the community. Using the new Section 811 integrated model, supportive housing units are included in high quality affordable rental properties that primarily assist households without disabilities. To maximize opportunities for community integration, this new Section 811 approach requires that no more than 25% of the units in any Section 811 funded property be set aside for people with disabilities.

Role of State HFAs

Responding to the increasing demand for supportive housing units, HFAs in several states have already implemented the integrated approach that is now the centerpiece of new HUD Section 811 policy. These states created integrated supportive housing units for people with disabilities by including incentives or requirements in their Qualified Allocation Plan (QAP) for the federal Low Income Housing Tax Credit program and/or their HOME-funded rental housing strategy. For example, several states adopted minimum set aside requirements (i.e. 5-10 % of the units in a development), while others provided incentives to include supportive housing units. These pioneering HFAs also formed partnerships with state HHS/Medicaid agencies to ensure timely referrals to set-aside units and secure commitments of supportive services for tenants.

New Section 811 Opportunities for HFAs

HUD's Section 811 Program is a critical program that assists the lowest income people with significant and long-term disabilities to live independently in the community by providing affordable housing linked with voluntary services and supports. 

The Frank Melville Supportive Housing Investment Act of 2010 reformed the Section 811 Program by authorizing a systematic and state-oriented approach to the creation of integrated supportive housing units. The most significant Melville Act innovation is the new Section 811 Project Rental Assistance (PRA) option which - for the first time - provides cost-effective PRA subsidies directly to State Housing Finance Agencies (HFAs).

Join our email list to receive the latest 811 updates as they are available!